Alder Creek Farm

About

Alder Creek Farm has been in our family for 5 generations now. Today, we run a 50 ewe flock mostly comprised of animals that have been born and raised on the property. There is about 200 acres of land – some wood lot and the rest tillable fields and/or pasture. We believe in animals grazing freely and raising their young. Sheep are very unique in that they require guardians and shepherds to ensure their safety. The flock is trained to stay in the barnyard at night and during the day, we have a guardian llama (Gus) that keeps a watchful eye.

On our farm, we like to keep it simple. Our sheep are fed grass through natural grazing and pasture rotation methods. We make our own hay and silage which is a combination of red clover, orchard grass and timothy. The flock provides the natural fertilizer!

We are very proud to have been involved with the Upper Ottawa Valley 4H Sheep Club for several years helping to introduce several children to the sheep world and raising several champion show animals.

Stop by and see us some time. We will be glad to give you a tour!

Address
620 Roesler Road
Golden Lake, Ontario, K0J 1X0
Canada
Phone
1 (613) 625-2795
Email
[email protected]
Website
www.aldercreek.ca
Schedule
Always Open :
Categories
  • butcher-shop
  • food
Ecological grades
80% local products and +
Ecological products
Social media

Alder Creek Farm

À propos

Alder Creek Farm est dans notre famille depuis 5 générations maintenant. Aujourd’hui, nous gérons un troupeau de 50 brebis composé principalement d’animaux nés et élevés sur la propriété. Il y a environ 200 acres de terre – des bois et le reste des champs cultivables et / ou des pâturages. Nous croyons aux animaux qui paissent librement et qui élèvent leurs petits. Les moutons sont uniques en ce qu’ils ont besoin de gardiens et de bergers pour assurer leur sécurité. Le troupeau est entraîné à rester dans la basse-cour la nuit et pendant la journée, nous avons un lama gardien (Gus) qui surveille attentivement.

Sur notre ferme, nous aimons garder les choses simples. Nos moutons sont nourris à l’herbe par des méthodes naturelles de pâturage et de rotation des pâturages. Nous fabriquons notre propre foin et notre ensilage, une combinaison de trèfle rouge, de verger et de fléole des prés. Le troupeau fournit l’engrais naturel!

Nous sommes très fiers de faire partie du Club des moutons 4H de la vallée de l’Outaouais supérieur pendant plusieurs années, en aidant à présenter plusieurs enfants au monde du mouton et en élevant plusieurs champions.

Arrêtez-vous et nous voir quelque temps. Nous serons heureux de vous faire visiter!

Adresse
620 Roesler Road
Golden Lake, Ontario, K0J 1X0
Canada
Téléphone
1 (613) 625-2795
Courriel
[email protected]
Site web
www.aldercreek.ca
Horaire
Toujours ouvert :
Catégories
  • alimentation
  • boucherie
Grades écologique
Produits 80% locaux et +
Produits écologiques
Médias sociaux